Sunday, February 1, 2009

Switzerland Now a Schengen Country Member

As of December 12th 2008 - Switzerland is the latest European Country that joined the Schengen Member Area. There are now 25 members consisting the Schengen Countries.

The following are the current members to the Schengen Countries;
Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. These countries are also a part of the European Union Member States.

Bulgaria, Cyprus, Republic of Ireland, Romania and United Kingdom are Members of the European Union, however they are not a Schengen Member at this time.

While Switzerland is now a Schengen Member, the Swiss airports border control will remail in place until March 29, 2009 where its Schengen operation will begin.

There are several changes to visa requirements as an impact to the Schengen Membership of Switzerland.
1. The nationals of the following countries NOW require a visa when entering Switzerland;
  • Dominica
  • Fiji
  • Grenada
  • Jamaica
  • Solomon Islands
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad
  • Tobago and
  • Tuvalu
2. Nationals of the following countries will remain visa exempt when entering Switzerland; however this is only applicable when entering Switzerland and not entering other Schengen Member Countries where visa is required;
  • Antigua
  • Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados and
  • St. Kitts-Nevis
3. Nationals holding an in-transit visa within Switzerland are no longer able to leave the transit area

4. Third country visa required nationals being alien residents of Andora, Canada, San Marino, USA, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Republic of Ireland and United Kingdom now require a visa

There are 5 types of Schengen Visa:
  • Type A - airport transit visa
  • Type B - transit visa
  • Type C - short period visa
  • Type D - long period national visa
  • Type D+C - visa that allows the holder to enter and stay for long term stay at the issuing Schengen state and can travel to other Schengen countries
Observations: Traveler must get guidance from an experienced professional consultant on Schengen countries when planning to visit or do business within the Schengen member countries. There are advantages and limitations on each visa types.

For questions or inquiries regarding additional information to compliance please contact:

# # #

No comments:

Post a Comment